The Friendship Four began in 2015 and is an annual tournament that comprises of four teams from the NCAA’s Division I Men’s Ice Hockey traveling to Belfast to compete for the Belpot Trophy!!

History of the tournament

The Friendship Four Tournament celebrates the Boston/Belfast Sister city agreement by helping to foster stronger cultural, economic, and academic relationships between Northern Ireland and America. Using amateur sport, it creates opportunities to unite communities, providing a conduit to revitalize the cultural ties between America and Northern Ireland”

The idea for the tournament stemmed from discussions when Belfast and Boston signed a Sister Cities Agreement in 2014 as part of our international relations work. Both mayors agreed that it would be a fantastic opportunity to raise the profiles of the cities involved. The inaugural tournament took place in November 2015, with college teams competing for the first time ever outside the USA. Umass Lowell won in 2015, with the University of Vermont winning the second tournament in 2016. 2017 saw Clarkson University lift the coveted Belpot trophy.

Check out our previous winners and competitors!