Congratulations to our 2018 Champs – Union College

  • by

The 2018 Friendship Four provided some memorable moments throughout the two days of hockey at The SSE Arena thanks to Boston University, Union College, University of Connecticut and Yale University.

Congratulations go to Union College, who skated away with the famous Belpot Trophy thanks to their 2-1 victory over Boston University in the Championship game.

Union scored the opening goal in the Belpot final as Brett Supinski scored, redirecting a shot from Anthony Rinaldi at the 11:31.

The Boston University Terriers tied the game before the end of the opening period through Ty Amonte’s second of the season with 49 seconds remaining.

Parker Foo, draft pick of the Chicago Blackhawks, netted the game winning goal early in the middle period. Union’s Jack Adams created a turnover in the neutral zone and quickly dished the puck off to Sam Morton who had a two-on-one with Parker Foo. Morton passed to Foo, who beat BU goaltender Jake Oettinger.

Netminder Darion Hanson backstopped his side to the impressive win and earned our Tournament MVP award, receiving the Marty Walsh Beacon of Hope Trophy from Robert Fitzpatrick, Odyssey Trust Chief Executive.

Friendship Four Champions – Belpot Trophy
2015: University of Massachusetts Lowell
2016: University of Vermont
2017: Clarkson University
2018: Union College

Friendship Four MVP – Marty Walsh Beacon of Hope Trophy
2015: Tom Marchin (Brown University)
2016: Stefanos Lekkas (University of Vermont)
2017: Jake Kielly (Clarkson University)
2018: Darion Hanson (Union College)