2016 Friendship Four – The Universities

  • by

The announcement has been made for the 2016 edition of the Friendship Four tournament – hosted at The SSE Arena, Belfast across Thanksgiving weekend on Friday 25th and Saturday 26th November. Information on ticketing will be announced as soon as possible.

Quinnipiac University, The University of Vermont, St. Lawrence University and University of Massachusetts will compete to become the second winners of the Belpot Trophy following Mass Lowell’s success in the inaugural tournament in 2015.

With the tournament nine months away – we will have all the coverage from build up to the 2016 Friendship Four right here on the official website as well as on Facebook and Twitter. Here is a sneak preview of the 2016 teams:

Quinnipiac Bobcats – Quinnipiac University

The Quinnipiac Bobcats men’s ice-hockey team, currently ranked #1 overall, is a National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) division 1 university ice hockey program that represents Quinnipiac University. The Bobcats are a member of ECAC Hockey and they play at the TD Bank Sports Center in Hamden, Connecticut.

Notable ice-hockey alumni: Bryce Van Brabant (Calgary Flames), Jonathan Quick (LA Kings)

Twitter: @QU_MIH


Vermont Catamounts – The University of Vermont

The Vermont Catamounts men’s ice hockey team is an NCAA Division 1 university ice hockey program that represents the University of Vermont. The Catamounts are a member of Hockey East, joining in 2005 after competing in ECAC Hockey from 1974-2005. They play home games at Gutterson Fieldhouse in Burlington, Vermont. Vermont has appeared in the NCAA Men’s Hockey Championship five times since making the move to Division I in 1974-75 including trips to the Frozen Four in 1996 and 2009.

Notable ice-hockey alumni: Torrey Mitchell (Montréal Canadiens), Patrick Sharp (Dallas Stars), Viktor Stalberg (New York Rangers), Martin St.Louis (ex-Tampa Bay Lightning & New York Rangers)

Twitter: @UVMmhockey
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UVMmhockey/


St. Lawrence Saints – St. Lawrence University

The St. Lawrence Saints Men’s Ice Hockey team, colloquially known as the “Skating Saints”, is an NCAA 1 university ice hockey program that represents St. Lawrence University. The Saints are a member of the ECAC Hockey. They have played at Appleton Arena in Canton, New York, since 1951. Prior to the arena’s construction, the men’s team played outdoors at the current location of Whitman Hall.

Notable ice-hockey alumni: Rich Peverley (ex-Boston Bruins & Dallas Stars), Jacques Martin (Pittsburgh Penguins), John Zeiler (ex-LA Kings), Bill Torrey (ex-New York Islanders), Ray Shero (New Jersey Devils GM)

Twitter: @SLUsaints
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SaintsAthletics/


UMass Minutemen – University of Massachusetts

The UMass Minutemen ice hockey team is an NCAA Division 1 men’s university ice hockey program that represents the University of Massachusetts. The Minutemen are a member of Hockey East and they play at the 8,387-seat William D. Mullins Memorial Center (informally known as the Mullins Center) in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Notable ice-hockey alumni: Justin Braun (San Jose Sharks), Matt Irwin (Boston Bruins)

Twitter: @UMassHockey
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UMassHockey/