One of the smallest schools in terms of enrollment in NCAA Division I ice hockey, St. Lawrence University is a private Liberal Arts institution located in the St. Lawrence River valley near the Canadian border.

Founded in 1956, it has been non-denominational and co-educational since its founding. Its student body of 2,508 includes students from 47 state and 48 countries and the University offers 36 majors and 38 minors. The University also offers 25 off-campus study programs in 19 countries and five off-campus study programs in the United States.

The University offers its students a 32-sport athletic program, the bulk of which competes in NCAA Division III (non-scholarship). It’s men’s and women’s hockey teams compete in Division I and its men’s and women’s squash, men’s and women’s alpine and Nordic ski teams and its equestrian team compete at the top level of their sport in multi-divisional championships.

A charter member of the Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference hockey league and the league’s first tournament champion in 1962, among the distinguished graduates of the program are Mike Keenan, the first coach to win professional championships in both the National Hockey League and the KHL, Brian McFarlane, noted author and long-time host of Hockey Night in Canada, Bill Torrey, who built the New York Islanders NHL dynasty of the early 1980s and a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame. The Saint program has also produced a number of NHL players including Rich Peverley, who recently retired from the Dallas Stars following health issues, San Jose Sharks broadcaster Jamie Baker and Gary Croteau who played with five different NHL teams in the 1980s and appeared in over 600 professional games.